Skip to content

Macquarie University

Established in 1964, Macquarie University began as a bold experiment in higher education. Built to break from traditions: to be distinctive, progressive, and to be transformational. Today our pioneering history continues to be a source of inspiration as we celebrate our place among the best and brightest minds.

Recognised internationally, Macquarie University is consistently ranked in the top two per cent of universities in the world* and within the top 10 in Australia*.

Our research is leading the way in ground-breaking discoveries. Our academics are at the forefront of innovation and, as accomplished researchers, we are embracing the opportunity to tackle the big issues of our time.

Led by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor S Bruce Dowton, Macquarie is home to five faculties. The fifth and newest – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences – was formed in 2014. We are also home to some of Australia’s most exceptional facilities – hubs of innovation that unite our students, researchers, academics and partners to achieve extraordinary things.

Faculties and Departments

  • Macquarie Business School – (Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance, Department of Applied Finance, Department of Actuarial Studies and Business Analytics, Department of Economics, Department of Marketing, Department of Management)
  • Faculty of Human Sciences – (Department of Educational Studies, Department of Cognitive Science, Department of Linguistics, Department of Psychology)
  • Faculty of Science and Engineering – (Department of Biological Science, Department of Molecular Sciences, Department of Chiropractic, Department of Computing, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, School of Engineering, Department of Environmental Science, Department of Mathematics and Statics, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Australian Astronomical Optics – AAO )
  • Faculty of Arts – (Department of Ancient History, Department of Anthropology, Department of English, Department of Geography and planning, Department of Indigenous Studies, Department of International Studies: Languages and Cultures, Department of Media Music Communication and Cultural Studies, Department of Modern History Politics and International Relations, Department of Philosophy, Department of Security Studies and Criminology, Department of Sociology, Macquarie Law School, Big History Institute)


Rutega Education Services CC was established with the precise objective to provide quality professional service to prospective students and their parents, on international study possibilities.

Rutega is a Tswana word meaning –
Be Educated


South Africa

Elsa-Marie: +27 82 887 0306

Back To Top
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons